Me, My Four and No More

Hey Folks, It’s Monday but I ain’t my normal happy self. (Sorry folks this is going to be a rant.)

Gal 3:28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither bond nor free, there is neither male nor female: for ye are all one in Christ Jesus.

I Cor. 12:13, Eph 3:5-10, John 10:16, Rom 10:12-15, Rom 3:29, Eph 2:13 – 17 and many more.

I was recently speaking with some people of a certain shared culture and noticed that they really did not care for those of other cultures.  This upset me greatly!  I am a woman of a multicultural background and proud of it but, it makes me angry when I see people only care for those that they share a heritage, culture, language or whatever with (especially in the church!).  This is unacceptable!  We can no longer afford a me and mine mentality!  We are thee Body! One family, one people, one BLOOD (The blood of Jesus Christ), regardless of the culture, social class or financial status we originate from we are now connected 1st to the this Family of Christ!  All else is a distraction from the truth of Christ.

It is sickening to think that there are those who would try to propagate their agenda on the back of one culture’s struggle but care not one iota for the people upon which they profit.  That is ideological slavery!  It is twisted!

Here is my point my short and sweet: Honestly care about people more than your own agenda!

As Christians we are called to love! If we only love those that we have culture, language, money, etc in common with we are not loving and therefore not Christlike.  That is a violation of the commandments of Christ:   And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these. (Mark 12:30&31 KJV)

Our neighbors are not only those that look like us or talk like us or come from our country or have our background.  Our neighbors are all mankind…..And if God is no respecter of persons (Acts 10:34), how dare we be!  Racism, Classism, Sexism and a bunch of other isms, have been tolerated in the church far, faaaaarrrrrrrrrrr too long!  It must die and die now!  We are commanded to LOVE not segregate! All this garbage about black churches, white churches, latino churches, chinese churches, whatever with that!  Christ is not divided across color lines! We are supposed to be one as the Father, Son and Holy Spirit are ONE! (John 17:11 And now I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to thee. Holy Father, keep through thine own name those whom thou hast given me, that they may be one, as we are.)  WE ARE THE CHURCH! PERIOD. POINT BLANK. EXCLAMATION POINT!

And if you can’t get over my sister’s dark skin or my brother’s blue eyes or my father’s curly red hair or my uncle’s empty pockets or my cousin’s inability to speak the language you like,…..YOU NEED JESUS!

Now that I’m done with the ranting portion………breathe….breathe……breathe………

Let’s relate this to singleness and relationships.  Many people are dating and crossing lines which is beautiful but some neglect to embrace the culture, class, financial background or whatever of those that they date.  While others marry across the lines and neglect to see the background of their significant other as integral to the whole of the person.  We cannot only pick the parts in common but we must embrace the differences as well.  The differences and the similarities are the enriching harmonies to the symphony of life.

Alright I am done for this week. Feel free to comment (if you are negative, I may ignore you, but feel free).

Dance to all the music.

Life, love and learning to you,

Good

Leave a comment